How do I get a certified copy of a vital record?

A certified copy of a birth certificate, death certificate, or marriage record may be requested from the town in which the event occurred, town of residence at the time of the event, or by contacting the Office of Vital Records in Augusta at (800)-664-9491 or (207) 287-1919. The State of Maine requires that a Certified Copy Request Form be completed and that proof of identity and proof of eligibility to acquire the record be provided. Records can be requested by mail if the appropriate documents are included.

News and Events

Town Calendar

Monday, January 21
  • Town Office CLOSED - Martin Luther King Jr Day Holiday 67 Court St, Castine, ME 04421, USA
  • Witherle Library CLOSED
  • Adams School CLOSED for MLK Day
  • Monday Morning Knitting Circle 11:00 am at   Witherle Memorial Libray
Tuesday, January 22
  • Fitness Class 8:30 am at   Basement of Emerson Hall
  • Shawl Ministry 1:00 pm at   Trinitarian Congregational Parish
  • Selectboard/Assessors & Overseers of the Poor Mtg 4:00 pm at   Emerson Hall, 67 Court St, Castine, ME 04421, USA
  • Public Hearing 4:00 pm at   67 Court St, Castine, ME 04421, USA
Wednesday, January 23
  • T/G Mtg = CANCELLED 8:00 am at   MMA Leeward RM
Thursday, January 24
  • Fitness Class 8:30 am at   Basement of Emerson Hall
Monday, January 28
  • Monday Morning Knitting Circle 11:00 am at   Witherle Memorial Libray
Tuesday, January 29
  • Fitness Class 8:30 am at   Basement of Emerson Hall
Thursday, January 31
  • Fitness Class 8:30 am at   Basement of Emerson Hall
  • Calvineers Spaghetti Dinner 5:00 pm at   Emerson Hall
Monday, February 4
  • Monday Morning Knitting Circle 11:00 am at   Witherle Memorial Libray
Tuesday, February 5
  • Shawl Ministry 1:00 pm at   Trinitarian Congregational Parish
  • CHPC Mtg 4:00 pm at   67 Court St, Castine, ME 04421, USA
Wednesday, February 6
  • School board meeting 5:00 pm at   Adams School
Sunday, February 10
  • Just For Fun Concert 3:00 pm at   Trinitarian Congregational Parish of Castine
Monday, February 11
  • Monday Morning Knitting Circle 11:00 am at   Witherle Memorial Libray
Thursday, February 14
  • Planning Board Mtg 7:00 pm at   67 Court St, Castine, ME 04421, USA
Monday, February 18
  • Adams School Winter Break
  • Monday Morning Knitting Circle 11:00 am at   Witherle Memorial Libray
Tuesday, February 19
  • Adams School Winter Break
  • Shawl Ministry 1:00 pm at   Trinitarian Congregational Parish
Wednesday, February 20
  • Adams School Winter Break