How do I get a driver’s license?

You can only obtain a Maine Driver’s License at a branch of the Maine Bureau of Motor Vehicles. The closest branches are in Ellsworth and Bangor. Additional information is available on the Maine BMV website.

Ellsworth Office
24 Church Street
(207) 667-9363

Bangor Office
Airport Mall
1129 Union Street, Suite 9
(207) 942-1319

News and Events

Town Calendar

Tuesday, November 20
  • Curbside Recycling Pick-up 7:00 am at  
Thursday, November 22
  • Town Office & Transfer Station CLOSED - Thanksgiving Holiday
Friday, November 23
  • Town Office & Transfer Station CLOSED - Thanksgiving Holiday
Sunday, November 25
  • Flying Santa 10:25 am at   Fort George
Monday, November 26
  • Curbside Trash Pick-up 7:30 am at  
  • Monday Morning Knitting Circle 11:00 am at   Witherle Memorial Libray
Tuesday, November 27
  • Shawl Ministry 1:00 pm at   Trinitarian Congregational Parish
Wednesday, November 28
  • Castine Town Band Christmas Concert 7:00 pm at   Trinitarian Congregational Parish of Castine
Monday, December 3
  • Curbside Trash Pick-up 7:30 am at  
  • Monday Morning Knitting Circle 11:00 am at   Witherle Memorial Libray
  • German Christmas Horn Concert: Remembering the Hessians at Fort George 3:00 pm at   Trinitarian Congregational Church
  • Selectboard/Assessors & Overseers of the Poor Mtg 4:00 pm at   Emerson Hall, 67 Court St, Castine, ME 04421, USA
Tuesday, December 4
  • Curbside Recycling Pick-up 7:30 am at  
Wednesday, December 5
  • School board meeting 3:00 pm at   Adams School
Friday, December 7
  • Holly Berry Fair 4:00 pm at   Emerson Hall
Monday, December 10
  • MMA Final Exam Week
  • Curbside Trash Pick-up 7:30 am at  
  • Monday Morning Knitting Circle 11:00 am at   Witherle Memorial Libray
  • A Castine Christmas Celebration 7:00 pm at   Unitarian Universalist Congregation
Tuesday, December 11
  • MMA Final Exam Week
  • Shawl Ministry 1:00 pm at   Trinitarian Congregational Parish
Wednesday, December 12
  • MMA Final Exam Week
  • MMA Holiday Open House 3:30 pm at   Leavitt Hall
  • MMA / Sodexo's Holiday Dinner 4:30 pm at   MMA Dining Hall
Thursday, December 13
  • MMA Final Exam Week
  • Adams School Winter Concert 5:30 pm at   Emerson Hall, 67 Court St, Castine, ME 04421, USA
Friday, December 14
  • MMA Final Exam Week
Saturday, December 15
  • MMA Winter Break Begins
Monday, December 17
  • Curbside Trash Pick-up 7:30 am at  
  • Monday Morning Knitting Circle 11:00 am at   Witherle Memorial Libray
  • Selectboard/Assessors & Overseers of the Poor Mtg 4:00 pm at   Emerson Hall, 67 Court St, Castine, ME 04421, USA
Tuesday, December 18
  • Curbside Recycling Pick-up 7:30 am at